Have ever worked 60+ hours a week for someone else’s business goals?

Yeah. I thought so.

You’re not alone.

My own story entails many, many years of the very same thing. As does so many of your own personal stories.

But let me give you a few reasons why perhaps, just perhaps, you need to go through this for a solid reason.

➡️ Building your life and learning your own personal truth.

I’ve worked those 60+ hour weeks.

For 40 hours of pay.

Many years full of them.

I built a solid career working for several big employers. That successfully led me to create my own personal companies.

No doubt, that held me back from some of my personal goals as I seriously strived to build towards my employers’ goals.

 But it was (in my case anyway) necessary for me to:

🔵 Learn innumerable important things,
- about business and office politics,
- and about myself, to learn what I’m truly capable of.

🔵 Build my personal résumé,
- for myself personally,
- and for my career.

🔵 Expand my vision for what’s possible,
- and more importantly, for maybe what’s not.

🔵 Learn how to maneuver in a room full of powerful people.

🔵 Learn how to persuade the opinions of important people,
- and learn how to listen, actually listen.

🔵 Learn how to build a business case.
- And learn how to defend it.
- And gain supporters.

🔵 Learn how to recognize when a target or goal was incorrect,
- to correct a plan mid-course and increase the potential for a win for everyone,
- or to say “STOP” and understand why that was the best immediate-term choice.

🔵 Learn how to recognize who is toxic to me,
- both personally, and professionally,
- and how to deal with those people without sacrificing my own integrity.

🔵 And… Countless more important building blocks of the life that I created, and who I became.

 Was all this necessary?

Probably. For me anyway. Because I came out the other side stronger, more empowered and focused, with a foundational life history chock-full of character-building, morality-building and knowledge-building stories and experiences that have turned into “my wisdom”.

 Please don’t take that term “my wisdom” lightly.

Everyone needs to build themselves the right toolbox of knowledge & experience to grow into the best, most creative and fulfilled person that they can become.

That’s important for success and a solid insight into your personal and professional life.

And it will go a LONG way towards helping you avoid those bad decisions that someone with less foundational knowledge makes. You know those people. They’re the ones that do something and your immediate reaction is: “Whoa. Why the hell did they do that?”

➡️ Go - Build your history - Gain “your wisdom”

Question:  Do you need as many years as I did?

My answer to that is no. Absolutely not. I grew up in a different time. With the knowledge, communications and opportunities that are available to you now, the path to personal knowledge and wisdom is dramatically decreased. But don’t discount the fact that you will still need to go through periods of time (probably several of them) that while you’re going through them will almost always seem too long and too awful to endure. But my opinion, is that you need to do this.

 Dale Carnegie told us:
 
 “To be interesting, be interested.”


➡️ Gain experience, gain knowledge, grow towards your own personal wisdom… and become interesting.

Build the life you deserve by making continuous high-quality decisions formed by your hard-earned personal wisdom. And above all, be a lifelong learner. The decision to do that might be one of your wisest choices.

Maybe I can help you along the way. You can review and subscribe to my free Thrivevolutionary Newsletter that contains wide-ranging cross-generational wisdom that might help you gain insight as you travel your own path towards your wisdom.

Bryan Hammond
Founder, Editor-In-Chief

Reply

or to participate.